…It Goes Like This (The Mix) by dj jon bates on SoundCloud

image

Link -} download to your device or fave mp3 app



ABOUT THIS SET /

Eclectic, time-bending set of stuff you’ve never heard, songs you love to hear and even a couple you forgot how much you liked. Recorded digitally in a single live set (1h06m) by DJ Jon Bates.
Hear more sets a:

jon_yellowspecs_blastedABOUT DJ JON BATES /

I’ve been listening, collecting, playing + ultimately performing ‘san francisco house’ music ever since sneaking into a club at 17 as Sabrina Johnston’s house anthem ‘Peace (in the Valley)’ was blowing the ‘heads off the floor.

I spent 10 years on the SF/Bay Area underground ‘rave’ circuit, and as I got to know dj’s like Jeno, Garth, Simon & the rest of the Gathering regulars; Dave Coleman & Sen-sei; the Dubtribe crew; Farina and the whole Om Records family; and so many other legends of that era.

I am forever grateful for their generosity as they passed along bits & tricks to help me start spinning the 12’s myself with a modicum of skill; no matter how many gigs I do or sets I put out, I will always happily recognize their great magical feats at the decks & all-consuming love for house music as something not to try to equal, but instead draw on their genius as inspiration for taking it further, deeper and with luck, even lovelier.

What do you think?

